Log in



Bowhunters of Wyoming has several awards it presents to deserving individuals.

Washakie Award

This is an award given to recognize spectacular specimens of Wyoming’s big game species taken by bow and arrow. The recipient need not be a member at the time of harvest for this award as its primary purpose is to honor the animal. This award is given on a nomination basis, to be nominated by the official measurer who measured the animal, and approved by the executive council. Email us to submit your nomination.

Award for Conservation or Substantial Support

This award is provided to those individuals in government who have done great things either for wildlife or for bowhunting. This is a nomination-based award that is approved by the executive council.  Any member may provide the nomination. The next deadline for nominations is February 15. Email us to submit your nomination.

Annual Big Game Award

Bow members can submit their official Pope and Young score sheets for Wyoming harvested animals to the records chairman. The top three entries for each species each year will be awarded plaques, and certificates will be given to all who submit.

  • All rules set forth by the Pope and Young records program are applicable, to include those rules of Fair Chase.
  • Must be measured by an official Pope and Young or Boone and Crockett measurer.
  • Must be a BOW member at the time of harvest to receive a plaque.
  • Only entries taken in Wyoming that are recognized by the Pope and Young records program are eligible.
  • Score sheets shall be sent to the Records Committee Chairman no later than 14 days prior to the annual convention or deadline set by the records chairman.

Send all inquiries or submissions to Records Chair Ron Niziolek 307-899-6181 EMAIL Ron

Wyoming Award

This award is to recognize BOW members who are dedicated to hunting with a bow and arrow. The award is given in four categories to members who have taken all or the majority of big game species in Wyoming with bow and arrow. Entries should be made to the records chairman.

If someone has all six of the “baseline” species (Mule Deer, Whitetail Deer, Pronghorn, Elk, Black bear, and Mountain lion) and any one of the “second tier” species (Shiras’ Moose, Bighorn Sheep, Rocky Mountain Goat, and Bison), they qualify for the Wyoming 7 Award. Baseline plus any two second tier species qualifies for the Wyoming 8 Award, and so forth.

  • Entries may be either male or female.
  • Entries are not required to be scored or meet any minimum score.
  • All entries must be taken in accordance with the rules of Fair Chase and in accordance with all laws and regulations as well as the By-Laws of BOW.
  • All entries shall be harvested by means of archery equipment.
  • Must be a member of BOW only at the time of application for this award.

Send all inquiries or submissions to Records Chair Ron Niziolek 307-899-6181 EMAIL Ron

Bowhunter of the Year

This is BOW’s most prestigious award. It is given on a nomination basis to members who are most deserving. Panels of five judges evaluate each nomination based on the score sheet to determine each year’s winner. The next deadline for nominations is February 15. Click HERE for the nomination form.  Forms need to be emailed to Records Chair Zach Dewitt. EMAIL Zach 

Previous recipients of the Bowhunter of the Year Award:

  • 2021 Dave Baer, Mountain View
  • 2020 Tom Hurley, Sheridan
  • 2019 Jim Mallon, Cheyenne
  • 2018 Joel Hoenk, Gillette
  • 2017 Keith Dana, Rock Springs
  • 2016 Michell Anderson, Laramie
  • 2015 Rich Wormington, Lovell
  • 2014 Harvey Dalton, Farson
  • 2013 Steve Martin, Rock Springs
  • 2012 Randy Burtis, Cheyenne
  • 2011 Brad Jones, Newcastle
  • 2010 No Nominations
  • 2009 Warren Hatcher, LaBarge
  • 2008 Neal Perkins, Cheyenne
  • 2007 No Nominations
  • 2006 Joel Meena, Cheyenne
  • 2005 Jason Stafford, Cody
  • 2004 Herb Meland, Casper
  • 2003 Mark LeFaivre, Rock Springs
  • 2002 Tom Pindell, Wheatland
  • 2001 Jeff Capron, Cody
  • 2000 Gary Shinn, Cody
  • 1999 Steve Martin, Rock Springs
  • 1998 David Moss, Basin
  • 1997 Steve Deroche, Cody
  • 1996 Ron Niziolek, Cody
  • 1995 Claude Rauch, Cody
  • 1994 Rod Schmidt, Rawlins
  • 1993 Mike Lindahl, Casper
  • 1992 Susan Barrett, Dayton
  • 1991 John Backs, Lander
  • 1990 Rick Parish, Cheyenne
  • 1989 Terry Fieseler, Rock Springs
  • 1988 Gary Cole, Newcastle
  • 1987 Terry Constable, Sheridan
  • 1986 Jim Downey, Cheyenne
  • 1985 Vaughn Cross, Rock Springs
  • 1984 Mike Barrett, Dayton
  • 1983 Vern Butler, Evanston
  • 1982 Mark Chapman, Rock Springs
  • 1981 Ray Rynio, Rock Springs

Bowhunters of Wyoming

An organization for bowhunters, by bowhunters.

Contact Us

PO Box 126
Dayton, WY 82836

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software